Just another WordPress.com site

I have always considered communicating with artificial intelligence and dealing with it to be far from me. Of course, I have heard that there is a computer program that can play chess even with grandmasters and beat them. Still, I could not imagine that students of our high school have been interacting with certain artificial intelligence programs for a long time. When Angela Movsisyan, an English teacher at our High School, invited me to her open class on “Artificial Intelligence”, I immediately agreed.

It’s always interesting to get solid information about something for the first time. Hayk Ghazaryan, a student in the 10th grade, conducted the lesson from beginning to end. His speech was so confident, so knowledgeable, and so serious that the first impression was that he was a guest expert on artificial intelligence.

Hayk presented the ChatGPT computer program, which can create a text on any topic. At first, I did not understand the meaning of that program. When Hayk started to tell about it, the students began asking him questions. After a few minutes, I realized that I myself and Silva Harutyunyan, who also had come to participate in the open class, were out of the game. What are they discussing? My question and request followed. “Haik, I am not at all familiar with that program, and your comments about the work of the program remain unclear to me. Please show a concrete example of how this program works with its artificial intelligence.” Hayk answered: “Say a word the explanation of which you would like to know”. I said. “Love”. Hayk wrote the word “Love” in the search window and after a second or two the artificial intelligence started working in front of our eyes. It was as if an invisible brain with English language thinking started dictating a lecture about love. The sentences appeared one after the other, logically connected and without repetition. It seemed endless.

So we accepted that the advantages of this computer program with artificial intelligence were obvious, but what are the disadvantages? It was here that Varazdat, a student of the same class, expressed his indignation violently. He had put up with it for about half an hour and hadn’t talked about the benefits of the program. He said that this artificial intelligence program makes the learners lazy because a learner can get his/her research paper, homework, and essays ready without having to work. Of course, I supported Varazdat’s point of view, but I told him during the interval that no matter how much we want, we cannot and it is useless to fight against progress.

After that unusual and extremely interesting open English class, some questions arose in my mind, the answers to which I do not know. Why is man working to create artificial intelligence? Why would a person of his own free will create a machine that would think for him and think without emotions and feelings?

Leave a comment